Volume of 3D Shapes with Play-doh

I really want to try this for a volume lesson this year.

I Speak Math

When my students are excited about what they are doing in class, they are engaged.  They will listen and best of all, learn.  The kids were ecstatic when they saw the Play-doh.  They couldn’t wait to get their hands on it!  The benefits for learning were amazing.  All I had to say was “Remember the Play-doh?” and they knew what to do for any volume problem.

Supplies per student:

  • One fun-sized Play-doh
  • Ruler
  • Plastic knife
  • Ruler

Instructions:
Many of my students had heard somewhere along the way that volume equaled length times width times height.  So, I started by having them make a rectangular prism out of their Play-Doh.

Once it was made, I had them draw a picture of it in their Geometry Booklets.  Then they measured and recorded the length, width, and height of their prism in centimeters.  Next, I had them cut their prism into 1 centimeter…

View original post 131 more words

Leave a Reply

Math Coach's Corner

Heather Simmons

education_prospector

Searching for the answers to education excellence

Megan Hayes-Golding

Still learning.

I Speak Math

Integrating Technology and Mathematics

